Awards & Grants Committe

CULS Awards and Grants Committee:

Guidelines, Committee, & Nominating Form

CULS Recognition Award Guidelines:

The Immediate Past President chairs the Awards and Grants Committee. The Executive Board appoints three Committee members for three-year staggered terms. Committee appointees shall have been CULS members for at least three years and represent a cross section of the CULS academic library community.

Awards may be presented in the following categories. Awards are in the form of framed certificates, with the exception of the Distinguished Service category, for which a plaque is provided:

  1. Steven F. Hanschu Distinguished Service Award
    To a CULS member with a record of outstanding contributions to the library profession (e.g. promotion of an appreciation for research, intellectual freedom, pluralism in the profession, legislative leadership, etc.), development of the CULS libraries in Kansas, or exemplary service for an extended period of time. In the case of retired individuals, the nominee may be a past CULS member.
  2. Beginning Professional Award
    To a librarian/media specialist within the first five years after receiving a library/media master’s degree, has made a positive impact on the quality and role of library service. Factors such as innovative programming and planning, use of resources, and special projects will be considered.
  3. Support Staff Award
    To a support staff member at an academic library with a record of notable contributions to their institution (e.g. promoting efficient and expeditious service), support staff development in the larger CULS community, or notable contributions to the library profession.
  4. Contribution Award
    To a community member(e.g. author) or organization (e.g. friends group) exhibiting distinguished contributions (e.g. literary, financial, time, or talent) to a CULS library or the larger CULS community.

Awards and Grants Committee Members

Chair: Steven Gromatzky
Immediate CULS Past President
Library Director
Benedictine College

Steve Hamersky
Assistant Professor and Director of Library Services
Newman University

Jane Ballagh de Tovar
Library Director
Donnelly College

Recognition Award Nominating Form

Nominations may be submitted from current and previous KLA members. Awards Committee members should also take an active role in preparing nominations. Final determination of award recipients is the responsibility of the Awards Committee. In any given year, the committee may choose to not award any categories lacking qualified nominations. Additional award categories may be added at the discretion of the CULS President.